Windows Live Mesh on the iPhone!

Microsofts endeavour, or should I say one of Microsofts endeavours, into cloud computing is (currently :)) called Live Mesh. At first glance it might seem that all you can do with this thing is synchronize data across your computers, but there is more to come and it touted by some to be the next-generation application platform, supporting both Windows PC’s, Mac’s and mobile devices.

image

I’ve been using Live Mesh for a while now, synchronizing select folders between work and home computers. I’m able to keep documents I’m working on, code projects and scripts handy, so no matter if I’m at work or at home, I can find the latest version ready for me. Between two home computers we use it to synchronize our GSAK database, to make sure we’re always carrying the latest geocaches with us on the netbook. 🙂

So while I was really searching for an iphone app that would allow me to download documents to the iphone as a flash drive, index the contents and make them searchable (btw: I had no luck with that), I stumbled upon this article:

Windows Live Mesh on the iPhone!

I hadn’t realized yet that mobile devices were supported, but they are, through the Live Mesh Mobile web interface. And what’s more, you don’t need a Windows Mobile device to use it, it works just as well with an iphone or (I’d imagine) any other device. Granted, your mobile device must be able to read the document type.. So far I’ve been able to read Office documents, text-files and PDF’s with the iphone and they are all good.

Now, the *true* mobile support (as in mobile device installed application) isn’t out yet, and likely will be Windows Mobile only. At least in the first iteration. I do expect Mesh-enable apps to surface on the iphone App Store, it just makes sense..

And one more thing.. You can actually remote control your online Mesh members! Now, I don’t have a Mac, but I have tried remote controlling both Vista and Windows Server 2008 Mesh members, and it works well enough that you can get out of a tight spot or remote support someone else. I was toying with the idea of installing Mesh on my Windows Home Server as well, as I have never been able to get that remote control support working.

I’m very excited about Live Mesh, and now that I can have documents available both on my Windows Mobile phone and my ipod touch, it’s shaping up real good!

But, keep in mind – this is just a Tech Preview beta, and things could change dramatically! Don’t put anything valuable up there, something COULD break!

6 thoughts on “Windows Live Mesh on the iPhone!”

  1. True mobile support for Windows Mobile is already available. I’m guessing the next mobile platform with true mobile Mesh support will be Nokia’s Symbian OS. If Apple opens up iPhone to Flash and Silverlight, then I’m sure Mesh will quickly follow.

    Mesh currently doesn’t support Windows Home Server because Mesh sync requires you to be logged in to your desktop, but Home Server support is coming.

  2. Hi Oran, thanks for commenting!
    Actually, the shared folders on my WHS are available when I log in remotely, but I haven’t been able to remote control it, so I was hoping to use Mesh’ remote control feature for that. I think I’ll be able to reach the WHS logon screen, even if it’s not logged on. I haven’t tested it with WHS, but it works just fine on Windows Server 2008. Since WHS is basically just a reworked W2k3 server, it should work..

  3. Ah, cool! I don’t have a WHS so I’m not able to try it out, but I just remember seeing people reporting problems with it on the Live Mesh forum. If you get it working, I’d be curious to know.

  4. Seconds after I posted my last comment, the remote control function quit working, and I was unable to reconnect. I’ve been aching to check this out, and now I’ve had a chance. I installed the Live Mesh client just fine on my WHS, logged in and got it running. I guess a clue to making it work without logging in, is checking all options on login; Remember me, Remember my password and Sign me in automatically. Once I did, I logged off, and returned to my laptop. I immediately saw the server in my list of Mesh members, and the Connect link was available. It takes some time to connect, but sure enough it works. I’ll have to test it more before I conclude anything, but it looks promising.. Finally, I can remote control my WHS! 🙂

  5. I’d definitely like to see the Windows Live Mesh work on the iPod Touch/iPhone. But I tried it yesterday using the web interface mode without sucess. I could log in, bring up the main view of folders, but creating/opening folders requires double-tapping the folder icon–which on a Touch/iPhone just zooms the screen, thus no open folders. Has anyone gotten this to work? Am I missing something easy?

  6. Found this page after looking for an App for Live Mesh or SKyDrive for iPhone. It took me a while but finally found iSMEStorage which works with both Mesh and SkyDrive. You need an account with SMEStorage but after configuration it works fine. A tip, just register for two free accounts, one for Mesh and one for SkyDrive and login / logout from the App and you can use both. Has Sync to phone for both, and also enables you to upload videos/photos direct from the phone.

Leave a Reply

