Skip to content

Some ramblings…

March 27, 2009

I’ve begun digging into the Sitepoint book “Build Your Own ASP.NET 3.5 Web Site” as part of my effort to become a software developer.

I couldn’t eradicate the family computer, and I couldn’t burden it with more “stuff”, overloaded as it already is, so I decided to do a dual boot instead.

I installed the Win 7 public beta, on a separate drive, somehow anticipating that the dual boot setup would magically materialize itself, but when that didn’t happen, I had a computer that would only boot into Win 7. I had better fix that, and a deep-dive into the new BCDEdit that came with Vista was in order. I just might do a separate blog post on that.

Anyhow, I’m up and running, plugging away at the lessons and practices on my late-night sparetime.. The book is looking good, and while I haven’t really gotten past the basics yet, I like the authors’ writing style and the examples are easy to follow. For now.

So, some things I’ve learned this week:

  • It’s entirely possible to dream up a solution for a problem, only to wake up with nothing but a vague feeling about what it was..
  • When planning for a roadtrip, you can use Google Maps, driving directions – not only will it give you directions, but actual photos of the major intersections! 🙂
  • My ipod touch 8gb easily holds 24 hours of music, 7,5 hours of movies, 500 photos and 40 applications.. with room to spare..
  • Microsoft System Center Virtual Machine Manager 2008 has exactly the same amount of letters as Microsoft System Center Data Protection Manager 2007. I suspect they have a plan.
  • The movie “Things we Lost in the Fire” featuring Halle Berry and Benicio Del Toro, the EU DVD version, which I purchased last month, has copy-protection on it so I’m unable to rip it into my collection. They think they have a plan.
  • Earth Hour will have the entire human population turn out their light for an hour tomorrow.

So that will have to do…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

